Author Topic: pingsweep error  (Read 3553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Brian Dao

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
pingsweep error
« on: May 06, 2012, 08:25:04 pm »
I've got a report from Chris Matuszewski, stating that the PingSweep is generating an error everytime he runs it.  PingSweep is one of the module that I have changed its behavior compared to the v1.85.  In v2.15, the free threading model is used to speed up the application performance and as such it's using more system resources.  What compounded the problem was that Chris was sweeping a /21 block (2048 IP's) and the default setting only using 255 threads.  So what we have is [probably] 255 guys trying to compete for 2048 jobs and probably stepping on one another while doing so. 
 
The root cause has yet to be identified, but I think it's due to the way the screen is painted to update the results or the threads stepping on top of one another causing memory fault.A quick resolution for this is to update the default setting from 255 to 2048 threads.  Press F5 to bring up the Settings window, click on PingSweep tab, find 255 and change it to 2048 and click Save.  This will fix the error while pingsweep a block of 2048 addresses or less but it will not fix the issue for good.
 
I'll see if this can be addressed in the next release.
 
Regards,
Brian

Brian Dao

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: pingsweep error
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2012, 01:10:16 pm »
I've got more reports sent in on this error.  As expected, the more threads are assigned to run the pingsweep, the more system resources are consumed by Pinkie.  So this temporary solution might not work for everyone.

A work around is to break up larger subnets into smaller ones.  I find that sometimes, I can get /22 or /21 to work.  For most users, it's probably save to go with a /23 subnet.

I'll bump the priority for this one up and try to get it fixed asap.

BrewMAJ

  • Guest
Re: pingsweep error
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 03:23:52 pm »
I always seem to run across an error when copying the sweep to the clipboard. I can drive on with 'Continue' and still paste the results, to it must be a minor error.

Not sure if this helps, but here is the 'Details' from the error:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.Runtime.InteropServices.ExternalException: Requested Clipboard operation did not succeed.
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetDataObject(Object data, Boolean copy, Int32 retryTimes, Int32 retryDelay)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetText(String text, TextDataFormat format)
   at Pinkie.frmMain.btnCopyToClipboard_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5466 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Pinkie
    Assembly Version: 2.15.4493.40061
    Win32 Version: 2.15.*
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/ipUptime.net/Pinkie/Pinkie.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5468 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Web.Services
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Web.Services/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Web.Services.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
selpwv0r
    Assembly Version: 2.15.4493.40061
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.